Triple Talaq – Divorce in Islam | Read everything about Triple Talaq

Triple Talaq

Divorce in Islam

In Islam, divorce is a permissible act (halaal), but that does not mean that Islam supports divorces. According to Islam, a lot of efforts and thoughts must be given before someone actually decides to get divorced. It is a better choice to try and make a marriage work. The couple at the verge of separation can take help from close people of their family to make the things work.


There are four methods by which the knot of marriage can be broken in Islam:

  1. When divorce is given by the husband known as the Talaq
  2. Divorcing with the agreement of both the parties known as the Khula
  3. Dissolution of marriage known as the Faskh-e-Nikah
  4. Granting divorce by the wife known as the Tafweez-e-Talaq


The first method of divorce known as the talaq is among the most common way of divorce among the Muslims. There are three ways in which talaq is done:



This type of divorce takes place when the husband speaks clearly that he wants a divorce and wants to stay free of the wife. Talaq-e-Raj’i is the type of divorce that can be revoked within a given time frame. The time frame is known as Iddah and this is the time of three menstrual cycles. This time period is given to the couple seeking divorce to confirm that the wife is pregnant or not and also to think over the decision again. Within the iddah period, if the man changes his mind and shows in any way that he is interested in getting back to her, the divorce is revoked and the couple are man and wife again.
In case the couple does not reconcile within the iddah period, it is confirmed that they are divorced and in order to be man and wife again, they will have to remarry.



Talaq-e-Ba’in is the type of divorce that takes place when the husband doesn’t ask for divorce in clear words. This type of divorce comes into effect as soon as it is announced, but the couple is allowed to remarry anytime, either before or after the Iddah period. In this divorce, it is usually not clear if the husband really wanted a divorce or said something that did not actually mean talaq but was interpreted in that way.



This divorce is usually known as the triple talaq and is most common in Islam. This type of divorce is irrevocable that means once divorce takes place, the marriage can not be reconciled just by remarrying the spouse. The divorce can either be given in one seating by saying the talaq word thrice at one time or in three months time by saying the word talaq once in a month.
Talaq-e-Mughallazah is forbidden in Islam, but is still used by a large number of Muslim families. This type of divorce means that the knot of the marriage is immediately broken, no matter when and why divorce was given. If the husband however decides that he didn’t want to divorce the wife, there are certain rules that they need to follow for getting remarried:

  • The Iddah period should be completed by the wife after which she is allowed to marry another man.
  • After the Iddah period is complete, the wife has to marry another man and should consummate the marriage
  • The marriage ends in two cases – either the wife is divorced by the husband or he is dead
  • The Iddah period that begins after the death of the husband or after the divorce should also be completed by the wife
  • After all this, the first husband is allowed to marry the wife.

It is compulsory for the husband to pay the Mahr in case it has not already been paid by the husband. A Mahr is an amount of money that the husband has to pay to the wife while marrying. The husband is also supposed to take care of his wife and financially support her during the waiting period or till the delivery of the child if she is pregnant.

The triple talaq has been banned in many countries that houses a large number of Muslims including Pakistan and Indonesia, but in India this practice has still not been banned. Many women have been waiting for the decision by the supreme court regarding the same.




Translate »